For What It's Worth

Friday, August 18, 2017

Friday fast 5: cover love



I’m kind of feeling the dog days of summer dragging me down and reading is going slooooowly so I probably won’t have any reviews for the rest of the month.

I have no clue what I’ll be posting instead. Prepare for randomess! lol

Today is a collection of eye popping covers I’ve found. let me know what you think about them!

1.

35134061

Down and Across by Arvin Ahmadi
Viking Book for Young Readers
Publication: January 30, 2018



Diverse characters, adventure and…crossword puzzles? Sure! I’m in!

2.

33114444

Letters to a Prisoner by Jacques Goldstyn
Owlkids
Publication: September 15, 2017



“Told entirely through illustrations, Letters to a Prisoner is a wordless story about the power of hope and the written word.” Goodreads

3.

34637610

Shoot the Moon (Seeking Mansfield #2 – companion novel) by Kate Watson
Flux
Publication: 2018

Goodreads


“Shoot the Moon is inspired by Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations, along with some classic gambling movies like Matt Damon’s Rounders” – Kate Watson

4.

33099588

The Black Tides of Heaven (Tensorate #1) by J.Y. Yang
Tor Teen
Publication” September 26, 2017


“Mokoya and Akeha, the twin children of the Protector, were sold to the Grand Monastery as children. While Mokoya developed her strange prophetic gift, Akeha was always the one who could see the strings that moved adults to action. While his sister received visions of what would be, Akeha realized what could be. What's more, he saw the sickness at the heart of his mother's Protectorate.” - Goodreads

5.

35604722

Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter tot he World by Ashley Herring Blake
Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication: March 16, 2018


“In the wake of a destructive tornado, one girl develops feelings for another in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish. “ Goodreads

32 comments:

  1. Ha ha I feel your pain. I have the rest of the month planned out but next month and October? Crickets. Nothing. I'm trying not to panic about it though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm a pantser anyway so I'm not worried about it but I usually have *something* in mind but nope - not this time lol

      Delete
  2. I love your random posts so keep it coming. Anyway, I'm not a cover loving girl but Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to The World cover is gorgeous. I love the colors. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh good because I think I'm going to do a post about roasting mushrooms so that's pretty darn random! lol

      Delete
  3. Oh man my reading has slowed down this summer! I might have randomness to post too. I love Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter tot he World cover. Super cute. Have a great weekend!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was reading about 20 books per month so I guess I'm due for a slowdown lol

      Delete
  4. I enjoy randomness! lol. I'm a big sucker for a great book cover. I hadn't heard of any of this but I do love their covers. Hope you have a great weekend!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm really loving how covers are being bold and not adhering to trends right now.

      Delete
  5. *prepares for randomness* I absolutely love the cover for The Black Tides of Heaven! The cover illustration is gorgeous.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! It would make a beautiful poster.

      Delete
  6. The last one looks beautiful. I dunno why but it kind of reminds me of high school

    ReplyDelete
  7. Yes, I'm ready for fall now. Summer has definitely been hot stuff.

    Cool cover finds. I love the swirling one that reminds me of a 60's motif.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Random is good too :)

    As for the covers, meh

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Really??? What kind of covers do you like?

      Delete
  9. I've read more this summer than I have in a long while. I haven't read any of these books though.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Letters to a Prisoner looks interesting. All of these books are new to me. :)
    ~Jess

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hadn't heard of them either but most of them sound good as well as having pretty covers.

      Delete
  11. The Black Tides of Heaven caught my attention

    ReplyDelete
  12. Well, I always like red, black, and white covers, so... I like that one lol. And I love all the bright colors in the last one! And Black Tides is just really pretty.

    ReplyDelete
  13. My reading has slowed WAY down lol- I'm just between good reads aka book slump! I like Letters To A Prisoner- that one's different- and The Black Tides of Heaven and Ivy Aberdeen are nice ones too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like how the covers are getting brighter and more artistic again.

      Delete
  14. Random posts are the best! I'm gearing up for some Halloween reading and, honestly, can't wait for the cold weather to start creeping in so I'll have an excuse to huddle down and read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have a lot of creepy books and I hope my rebellious reading brain doesn't sabotage me in October! lol

      Delete
  15. Oh the Black Tides of Heaven is the most interesting cover to me since it is reminiscent of the silk paintings in China.

    Aw, my reading average has so sucked this month too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's so beautiful isn't it??!!

      It's vibrant yet tranquil.

      Delete
  16. I have given myself permission to have a break but I can feel all those September books breathing down my neck! Trying to ignore it.....
    Jen Ryland

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've only had one or two arc's for months now but for September there are...many. *cue panic*

      Delete
  17. uh-huh! I hear you I'm in such a blogging slump now in the summer! I love covers posts! my favorite from your list is The Black Tides of Heaven :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. I like these covers. It's nice to take a break from the glistening abs and moody pouts... But I do enjoy those types of covers too! ;)

    ReplyDelete