For What It's Worth

For What It's Worth

Monday, September 8, 2014

{Mini’s} Review: Let’s Get Lost & Falling into Place


Let's Get LostFive strangers. Countless adventures. One epic way to get lost.

Four teens across the country have only one thing in common: a girl named LEILA. She crashes into their lives in her absurdly red car at the moment they need someone the most.

There's HUDSON, a small-town mechanic who is willing to throw away his dreams for true love. And BREE, a runaway who seizes every Tuesday—and a few stolen goods along the way. ELLIOT believes in happy endings…until his own life goes off-script. And SONIA worries that when she lost her boyfriend, she also lost the ability to love.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. And when Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila's own 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth— sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you're looking for is to get lost along the way.

~ Goodreads

Source: ARC provided by Harlequin Teen via BEA 2104

Review:
I had VERY mixed feelings reading this book. Let’s Get Lost is told through different POV’s (you basically get five different stories within one book), all connected by Leila, as she meets them during her trip to see the aurora borealis.

At times I loved the connections Leila made, particularly with Bree and Sonia, and other times I was rolling my eyes and almost quit reading, as with Hudson’s story.

I had two big problems with this book. One was that despite the raw emotions of the characters, each story ended up taking something potentially deep and meaningful and adding a wacky far fetched element.

Second was Leila herself. The Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Alsaid develops her more than most authors do but she still doesn’t seem like too much more than a beautiful whirlwind of a teenage girl, imparting yoda like life lessons at key moments so we can get to the next character’s pov.

I really wish her story had taken up more of this book, rather than a catalyst for everyone else's and a quickie (unbelievable) end for her.

To be fair – I think there’s some leeway to be taken with road trip stories. They are kind of wacky, madcap and impulsive, anything can happen, adventures aren’t they? I guess it’s just not my thing but if you do enjoy that then I still recommend this one. Despite not falling in love with it as much as I hoped, I don’t regret reading it and I will be giving this author another try.

***


18163646On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Goodreads

Source: ARC provided by Greenwillow Books via BEA2014

Review:
Falling into Place is a quite kind of story that slowly works it’s way into your psyche. It’s told in multiple pov, non linear fashion which could be disconcerting but it works for this story.
It’s simple, stripped down and all the more powerful a story for it.

This book really captures high school, popularity and bullying. It explores the way we perceive people, how are actions can change the course of someone's life, and hopefully allow for second chances.

17 comments:

  1. Eh on the first one, but the second one does seem better

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They're both good - I think I can't let go of my feelings of "you're in danger!!" with some of these YA road trip books lol

      Delete
  2. Quote:
    "I think there’s some leeway to be taken with road trip stories. They are kind of wacky, madcap and impulsive, anything can happen, adventures aren’t they?".
    I suppose. I don't usually read road trip stories, but what you said makes sense.

    As for F.I.P., multiple POVs and stories that slowly work their ways into my psyche are good!
    I usually don't like books about popular, mean girls, unless they're caught at a point where things take a different turn (like Between by Jessica Warman). I've read many positive reviews about this one, even by people who (like you) don't share my average taste in books...so yes, I'll get to this one...soon, I hope.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love multiple pov's but I don't' usually like non linear narratives but for some reason I thought it worked really well here.

      I also think the "mean girl" trope was done well and in an original way.

      Delete
  3. Out of the two it is Falling Into Place that really appeals to me even if I am a little concerned by the story being told by more than one person.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do like multiple pov's so it didn't bother me.

      Let's Go is more 5 distinctive stories with a common thread (Leila) while Falling Into Place goes back and forth but it really does work in this book. Honestly, I don't think it would have been as good written any other way.

      Delete
  4. Falling Into Place sounds like my kind of book! As for Let's Get Lost, I think the wacky would probably take some love out of it for me, too.
    Thanks for the reviews!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Let's Go has fun pop culture references which were fun - I do think you might like Falling Into Place.

      Delete
  5. I got sent Falling into Place and now more excited to read it

    ReplyDelete
  6. I actually don't hate the "The Manic Pixie Dream Girl" but do often find myself frustrated that there isn't more to the character. Hm... not sure if this one is for me, but I am more curious about Falling into Place. Multi POV doesn't always work but I'm curious to see how it does work within this book. Brilly reviews!

    ReplyDelete
  7. i really liked let's get lost but i can def see how you wouldn't like it, esp the wacky element part. the canadian story was basically a hijinks filled movie, ha. i haven't read falling into place yet but i've heard pretty good things about it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I think I liked Let's Get Lost more than you, though I do agree about the Manic Pixie Dream Girl of the MC. Falling Into Place sounds interesting...

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great reviews and I still need to read let's get lost :) I really agree with your review of falling into place and 2nd chances .

    ReplyDelete
  10. Great reviews and I still need to read let's get lost :) I really agree with your review of falling into place and 2nd chances .

    ReplyDelete
  11. I totally thought Let's Get Lost was a different kind of travel book (maybe I thought it was non-fiction). Anyway I didn't pay too much attention to it at BEA, also probably because it was so hyped (remember that car and everything?). It doesn't sound like I'd enjoy it too much anyway.

    Falling into Place sounds pretty amazing though.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Hmmm...I have the first one on my stack...but just haven't been able to pick it up...neither sound compelling to me...at least not with the reading mood I am in now.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oh, those Manic Pixie Dream girls, just flitting around spreading quirkiness and life insights wherever they go....

    Jen @ YA Romantics

    ReplyDelete