For What It's Worth

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

tell me something tuesday



Tell Me Something Tuesday is hosted by Rainy Day Ramblings and discusses a wide range of topics from books to blogging.




Question: Winter picks for 2018

I’ve been so laser focused on whittling down my TBR pile that I haven’t even allowed myself to look at what’s coming out in 2018 so I had to do a little searching for this one.

But here are a few of my picks. Links & quotes attributed to Goodreads

31625039312070172544629726032825

Let's talk About Love by Claire Kann ( I already have this one for review) After Alice’s girlfriend breaks up with her after she reveals she is ace her summer takes “an unexpected turn, and Takumi becomes her knight with a shiny library employee badge (close enough), Alice has to decide if she’s willing to risk their friendship for a love that might not be reciprocated—or understood.”

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed “coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.”

Unearthed by Amie Kaufmand & Megan Spooner  I loved this duo’s Starbound trilogy. This sounds kind of similar which is kind of a bummer – I would love something a little different but I’m still looking forward to read this one. “When Earth intercepts a message from a long-extinct alien race, it seems like the solution the planet has been waiting for. The Undying's advanced technology has the potential to undo environmental damage and turn lives around, and Gaia, their former home planet, is a treasure trove waiting to be uncovered.”

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of Air #1) by Holly Black I’m not a fan of the fae but I loved Black’s The Darkest Part of the Forest and this sounds like it has a similar vibe. “ Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.” (There’s a giveway for this one up on Goodreads)”


I’m sure I’m missing a lot of books, and this was a YA list I was looking through, but hopefully reading your answers will kick start me into making a list of books to look forward to.

33 comments:

  1. I've got a couple anticipated reads for 2018, but it is hard to look that far ahead for me, too. I've got Dragon Blood by Eileen Wilks, Hearts On Fire by Amanda Bouchet and Edge of Darkness by Karen Rose as my top ones for early in the year. I haven't read the earlier Kauffman and Spooner series, but I think I'd like this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah - that's too far ahead for me and I already have too much to catch up on lol but it was fun to look!

      Delete
  2. I loved Holly Black's The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, so I really want to try The Cruel Prince too! I should prob also try The Darkest Part of the Forest.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. TDPotF had a fairy tale vibe. I really enjoyed it even though it's not my typical kind of read

      Delete
  3. I'm so excited for The Cruel Prince that if it ends up being underwhelming I'm doing to be so pissed, the reviews so far are outstanding so my expectations are way high!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm happy to hear the reviews are so positive. I hadn't read any yet. Book hype can ruin everything! lol

      Delete
  4. I'm curious to see what people think of Let's Talk About Love. I do enjoy a good LGBT+ novel. Honestly, I'm not sure I have a ton of 2018 books on my to-read list. I need to start looking!!

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Since I drafted this post I read some negative things about it but the author apparently addressed the issues in a later version. I'm not sure which one I have.

      Delete
  5. Let's Talk About Love looks really good. I am so bad with whats coming out so I am excited to see more of todays answers.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I only looked for this post. I used to be up to speed on books but not anymore lol

      Delete
  6. I try not to look at new books because I have too many already but I may have to check out the new Holly Black book. I loved her earlier fae books when most people despised them. I wasn't too thrilled with the vampire one that every else loved though. I think I may just have strange taste.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same here. I read her Black Cat?? series and didn't like it all that much but loved that stand alone so I think I'll give this one a go.

      Delete
  7. A fan of the fae and long overdue a fae novel, it is The Cruel Prince that most appeals to me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh really? I didn't know that. I think you would enjoy Black's writing.

      Delete
  8. You're not alone. I have been so focused on my pile that I haven't been checking Netgalley. I'm actually finding out about a lot of books via this feature. LoL

    ReplyDelete
  9. Replies
    1. I loved their other series so fingers crossed

      Delete
  10. oh these look great...I have been seeing promos for Cruel Prince.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's not my usually thing but like I said - I liked her previous fae book.

      Delete
  11. ALL OF THESE ARE ON MY LIST TOO - except I only have Love Hate as well as Cruel Prince. I haven't made an effort to look at 2018 title either; 2017 books have been stressful. And then I look at the GR Choice Awards and I feel like I've read absolutely NOTHING.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tackling THIS year has been overwhelming lol

      Delete
  12. These are all new to me, hope you LOVE them!!!

    ReplyDelete
  13. You're doing so great working on your tbr pile :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Unearthed is on my list definitely. Love the premise of that!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I'm not really updated with what's coming or what have been published this year because I'm busy with my TBR too ;) But these are awesome picks Karen :)

    xx
    Vanessa @ Blushing Geek

    ReplyDelete
  16. I don't know how, but when I first visited your blog this morning, the top post was from Tuesday, June 13, 2017. It was still a Tell Me Something Tuesday, so I didn't think anything of it, but when I came back...it was so different. I'm having a weird morning. Also, I emailed you. 😁

    I'm excited for THE CRUEL PRINCE by Holly Black! I love books about the fae. 💕 I haven't really looked at other books coming out in 2018, because there is never a shortage of books to read. I'm positive there are still books from years ago waiting to be read on my shelf. #badreader

    Do You Dog-ear?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I got the comment and thought wow - she's really digging back to read ALL the old posts lol That was weird.

      Delete
  17. I haven't read those and I'm not sure what's coming out soon but I do check on the series that I like to see if a ne book will be releasing soon and nothing yet.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I'm hoping to get to Cruel Prince. It eluded me at Book Expo but I love her books!
    Jen Ryland Reviews

    ReplyDelete
  19. The Cruel Prince sounds awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Oh these look good. I do love Holly Black's fae. She is so dark and good!

    ReplyDelete
  21. I'm excited for all four of these books, too! I was recently approved for a blog tour for Let's Talk About Love, so hopefully I'll enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete