For What It's Worth

Monday, July 3, 2017

monday musings…

I’m going to be taking this week off from blogging. I was starting to feel my old familiar friend – blogging burnout – and decided to get ahead of the game since the 4th is coming up and I saw a few other bloggers planning to take it off as well. I’m not doing anything special – just a little reading and hopefully getting to spend time in the pool.

I’ll still be visiting blogs and leaving comments though and I already have several posts and reviews ready to go for next week.

Before I make my escape I have a few things I wanted to share.

Surprise package!


I’ve talked about my love of Noosa Yoghurt online over the years and I guess someone over there noticed and emailed me to ask if they could send me a care package. I was thinking coupons, stickers…a magnet? Welp, the next day I got this awesome strawberry themed package delivered!

They sent 4 full size containers of their Strawberry Rhubarb yoghurt. If you haven’t tried their yogurt yet – get on it. It tastes super rich and creamy – like a decadent dessert, instead of yogurt.

A strawberry print flour sack dishtowel from Tina Produce – a company out of Oakland California that “promotes sustainability by offering reusable napkins, kitchen towels, totes and tees. Initial designs are inspired by farmers' markets and aim to celebrate year-round fresh local produce. All functional art pieces are designed and hand screenprinted in Oakland, California.”

ban.do – a lifestyle brand based out of California that sells clothes, accessories, gifts, stationary and more. Super cute stuff when I perused their website!
A pink charger cable from

A strawberry print scarf from Taleen

Strawberry rhubarb lip balm by Pucker Junkie

Strawberry rhubarb candle by Modern Forestry – small batch soy candles made in South Carolina. This candle smells amazing! Like fresh strawberries handpicked from the garden – not perfume. I think I’ll be buying some from them soon!

* I did receive this box for free from Noosa but was not asked to blog/promote/review in any way in exchange. I just thought it was a really fun surprise, liked the contents and wanted to share.

July reading goals!

I only have ONE review physical review ARC for July!

What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum ~ Goodreads “From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.”

This looks and sounds super cute and summery!

Since I’m FINALLY caught up on current ARC’s and haven’t gone crazy requesting more *pats self on back*, I’m going back to catch up on all the older ARC’s – which has been my 2017 reading goal all along.

Here’s what I picked for July:

The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel I’ve wanted to read this series for years and Amazon had a sale – $4.34 for the pb - so I snapped it up

Done Dirt Cheap by Sara Nicole Lemon and Noteworthy by Riley Redgate – Both of these were on a TBR pile a few months ago but I didn’t get to them so I’m giving it another try this month.

June Reading

I read 20 books in June.

my read-june-2017 shelf:

Karen's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read-june-2017 shelf)



Favorites: The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by MacKenzie Lee, Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios, Concourse and Oversight by Santino Hassell and Coming Up For Air by Miranda Kenneally

Goodreads Reading Challenge


2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
Karen has read 107 books toward her goal of 120 books.
hide

Enjoy the week and the 4th holiday if you're in the US!

36 comments:

  1. Ohhh awesome things to try :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was so bizarre and random but cool lol

      Delete
  2. I love yogurt! Too bad the above stuff doesn't exist here. I have a feeling that strawberry and rhubarb are a great fit!
    Fonzi was interested of course. Duh ;D.
    And what did you do to deserve ALL THE FREE GOODIES? Did you behave a lot? ;D

    Wise move to avoid the burnout. I'm having a life burnout at the mo (um...always?), so I don't even have time to blog. Also, I have to take all my blog images off Photobucket because they're cutting 3rd part hosting/linking for free members. And before I re-host and re-upload them, I decided to re-index ALL OF THEM in a more manageable manner, so that, should it happen again, it would be easier and more intuitive for me to replace them. So I have my hands full! Oh, well, at least I planned ahead without even knowing...since I posted so little in 4 years and a half LOL.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, Fonzi is interested in everything lol I have NO idea why they sent that to me. I do bug everyone to try them but it's not like I constantly promote them on SM. I really do love their yoghurt though.

      I don't use photobucket - I think I have an account O_o I just download to my computer/dropbox. I hate when these companies do this and it sounds like PB did it last minute and with drastic changes.

      I'm sorry about your real life burnout. That is indeed worse than blogger burnout. *sends hugs*

      Delete
    2. Hugs are always needed and even more appreciated! :-*

      Delete
  3. I hope you have a nice week off from blogging! That package is so cute! How sweet of them. I love hearing about companies like that. :) I'm actually doing really well on review books, so I'm excited about that. I'm reading my final July ARC at the moment so Yay!

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Whoop! for staying on track! I only have one arc a month until the fall and then 2-3 so not bad at all.

      Delete
  4. I love that you got a care package from the company. Have a good mini vacation.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I hope you enjoy your little blogging break and get in some great pool time! I've been trying to get outside more too. This summer is passing by way too fast and I want to soak in every second. lol! I have a little weekend getaway to the beach planned for the end of the month so I'm trying to get ahead now so I don't fall behind after that.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! I can't believe it's July already.

      Hope you have a nice mini vaca :-)

      Delete
  6. Oh looks like fun! What a great surprise package. It all looks so yummy and what great additions from other products they add. Nice company! Have a great 4th!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was such a cute themed package. I've never gotten anything like that before.

      Delete
  7. SO MUCH STRAWBERRY. I'm interested in your thoughts of the balm.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It smells really nice but really that candle!! That's the thing I love most. It smells AMAZING.

      Delete
  8. Oh wow, that's really cool that they sent you that box of stuff! Enjoy your blogging break and you're reading and pool time :-) and your yogurt!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't been in my pool yet!! It's been pouring every day and it keeps messing up the pool chemistry. #firstworldproblems

      Delete
  9. Neato care package. And cool that you're taking a re-charge break. I'm unplugging for a few weeks.
    Nice reading numbers for June.

    Oh, that review book does look cute and summery. Enjoy your July, Karen!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm not burned out or anything yet but I felt that anxiety to get posts written etc so I'm I'm pulling back to recharge so I don't fall down that rabbit hole lol

      Delete
  10. Lovely care package. Cool. Twenty books read in June that is awesome. Hope July will be as awesome.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've been averaging at least 20 books a month which is crazy! But I'm having fun reading so I don't even notice until the end of the month.

      Delete
  11. How cool on the surprise package! I've seen theirs but I'm not a huge yogurt fan so haven't gotten it yet. It's one of those foods I *want* to love. lol Happy noshing and Independence Day!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should give it a try. It doesn't taste like regular yogurt. It's super rich and creamy. I'm not a big yogurt eater either except for this brand.

      Delete
  12. Oh yum. We love our yoghurt too but I've never heard of the Noosa brand and I'm an Aussie. I've never seen it in supermarkets. I'll have to check their website to see where it's being stocked.

    I hope you have a lovely few days of rest Karen and return with a love of blogging again <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It' based out of Denver so... I wonder if it's really like your Aussie yogurt. You know how companies say food is like some other countries food but it's just our American ripped off version? lol

      Delete
  13. Wow, those looks yummy! I have a sweet tooth and so eye candy Karen

    ReplyDelete
  14. p.s. I shared one of your reviews here: https://letsgetbeyondtolerance.blogspot.com/2017/07/rainbow-roundup-from-vampires-to.html

    ReplyDelete
  15. I've seen What to Say Next floating around and I have to say, I love the cover. It just screams summer to me. I can't wait to see your thoughts on it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It looks adorable! Fingers crossed that it is actually cute lol

      Delete
  16. I'm so excited about your yogurt! I'm not a huge yogurt fan - something about the gloppy texture is not appealing to me - but I'm going to try it!
    Jen @ YA Romantics

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I only like the Noosa and Stoneyfield Farms Greek yogurt.

      The Noosa tastes more like a creamy dessert to me and I love the fresh fruit flavors.

      Delete
  17. 20 books in June? Wow, well done! Glad you're taking sometime off to get your equilibrium back and hope you had a happy 4th of July! ❤️

    ReplyDelete