For What It's Worth

Friday, June 16, 2017

friday fast 5 - cover love



Today I’m spotlighting 5 covers that have caught my eye this week. They’re listed in order of release dates. Let me know what you think of them in the comments!

1.

1497042239-screen-shot-2017-06-09-at-44900-pm

Borne: A Novel
by Jeff VanderMeer

Available now


“Am I a person?” Borne asked me.
“Yes, you are a person,” I told him. “But like a person, you can be a weapon, too.”


In Borne, a young woman named Rachel survives as a scavenger in a ruined city half destroyed by drought and conflict. The city is dangerous, littered with discarded experiments from the Company―a biotech firm now derelict―and punished by the unpredictable predations of a giant bear. Rachel ekes out an existence in the shelter of a run-down sanctuary she shares with her partner, Wick, who deals his own homegrown psychoactive biotech.

One day, Rachel finds Borne during a scavenging mission and takes him home. Borne as salvage is little more than a green lump―plant or animal?―but exudes a strange charisma. Borne reminds Rachel of the marine life from the island nation of her birth, now lost to rising seas. There is an attachment she resents: in this world any weakness can kill you. Yet, against her instincts―and definitely against Wick’s wishes―Rachel keeps Borne. She cannot help herself. Borne, learning to speak, learning about the world, is fun to be with, and in a world so broken that innocence is a precious thing. For Borne makes Rachel see beauty in the desolation around her. She begins to feel a protectiveness she can ill afford.

“He was born, but I had borne him.”

But as Borne grows, he begins to threaten the balance of power in the city and to put the security of her sanctuary with Wick at risk. For the Company, it seems, may not be truly dead, and new enemies are creeping in. What Borne will lay bare to Rachel as he changes is how precarious her existence has been, and how dependent on subterfuge and secrets. In the aftermath, nothing may ever be the same.
2.

30640834

Speak Easy, Speak Love
by McKelle George

Greenwillow Books

Expected publication – September 19, 2017


Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer. Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.


Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.



3.

33829748

Calling My Name
by Liara Tamani

Greenwillow Books

Expected publication – October 24, 2017


Taja Brown lives with her parents and older brother and younger sister, in Houston, Texas. Taja has always known what the expectations of her conservative and tightly-knit African American family are—do well in school, go to church every Sunday, no intimacy before marriage. But Taja is trying to keep up with friends as they get their first kisses, first boyfriends, first everythings. And she’s tired of cheering for her athletic younger sister and an older brother who has more freedom just because he’s a boy. Taja dreams of going to college and forging her own relationship with the world and with God, but when she falls in love for the first time, those dreams are suddenly in danger of evaporating.


4.

DCIYgBaV0AQPTdN (1)_jpg-large

Break Us
by Jennifer Brown

Expected publication – February 13, 2018

Katherine Tegan Books


I can’t find a book summary for this one yet – but based on the previous books in the series – Shade Me & Dare You – this is mystery suspense along the lines of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series.

5.

34499210

White Rabbit
by Caleb Roehrig

Feiwel & Friends

Expected publication – April 24, 2018


Rufus Holt is having the worst night of his life. It begins with the reappearance of his ex-boyfriend, Sebastian—the guy who stomped his heart out like a spent cigarette. Just as Rufus is getting ready to move on, Sebastian turns up out of the blue, saying they need to "talk." Things couldn’t get much worse, right?

But then Rufus gets a call from his sister April, begging for help. And then he and Sebastian find her, drenched in blood and holding a knife, beside the dead body of her boyfriend, Fox Whitney.


April swears she didn’t kill Fox—but Rufus knows her too well to believe she’s telling him the whole truth. April has something he needs, though, and her price is his help. Now, with no one to trust but the boy he wants to hate yet can’t stop loving, Rufus has one night to prove his sister’s innocence…or die trying.



***
ICYMIS – on the blog this week:

This or that Tag

Happy TGIF everyone – anything I should be reading/watching/listening to as I head into the weekend?

23 comments:

  1. All of these definitely have gorgeous covers and I've actually read the first book in the Nikki's skill series- I thought Shade Me was quite good! I'd totally forgotten it was a series; thanks for the reminder to read the sequel! XD #getsocial17
    -Amy @ burstingwithbooks.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hadn't heard anything about any of them before doing this post but the covers were really catchy.

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. The whole series has covers like that. Really striking.

      Delete
  3. I love #4 too, not too much but still so catchy.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I will have to tell my daughter about the "Break Us" book series. She loved the Pretty Little Liars book series. Much more than the TV show. Those are all unique covers. I hope you enjoy the reads. Have a great weekend! - Mama Vicky #GetSocial17

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had't heard of it before but it's pretty popular.

      Delete
  5. These are some great covers you picked here!!! The bottom one here is so spooky. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's my husband's favorite one because it's creepy lol

      Delete
  6. I agree, those are great covers.

    ReplyDelete
  7. These would all catch my eye and I enjoy that they seem to have a lot to do with the story inside. Good picks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah - they actually all sound good too! Not JUST a pretty cover.

      Delete
  8. One of my favorite Shakespeare plays is Much Ado About Nothing so Speak Easy...looks great. And I'm SO excited about White Rabbit. I loved the author's debut book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hadn't heard of him before seeing this cover but he seems like a pretty popular author.

      Delete
  9. Ooh I like Break Us and White Rabbit! Speak Easy Speak Love is interesting too.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ooh these are gorgeous! I can see why you love them! I think the last one is my favorite.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I like the first two covers for sure. They all look interesting though. Thanks for sharing! ~Aleen

    ReplyDelete
  12. Interesting covers. Not sure any would grab my eye for me wanting them but I can appreciate some good cover art :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Wow, that cover of Borne is absolutely stunning but Speak East Speak Love sounds like a book I'd really enjoy actually and would love to see Much Ado About Nothing retold in the modern era. Awesome choices Karen <3

    ReplyDelete
  14. Love the cover for Break Us, and my inner PLL fan (the shame! but I do love it) is quite excited to try that series. Borne has a beautiful yet really creepy cover.

    ReplyDelete